Second: When the planar ally spell goes off it will take one round to bargain with your planar ally and a payment of another 1,200 gp again this is not part of your material component pouch.
From what I understand, though, you cast the triggered spell (in this case, planar ally) at the same time as the Contingency spell, so the negotiations would take place at that point, not when the Contingency is triggered. If successful, then it would potentially work ...
Although honestly, what kind of planar ally is going to willingly agree to be disintegrated? Plus, that's a Fort-based spell, and I think homey has a high Fort save.
This does lead me to a related question: some of the high level spells we are gaining access to have components that are normally not available (e.g., Raise Dead and the 5000 gp diamonds) - how exactly are we supposed to obtain these components in-game? I'm cool with low-level spells having components that are just lumped together in the pouch, but the rest ... it gets kind of irksome to need a spell but not have access to it because you don't have a 5000 gp gem of some sort.
McN has said, outside the game, that the situation is going to change such that we will be able to move about much more freely in the near-future. Does Ingeous have Teleport? If so, it may already be the case.
Notice: If you find yourself feeling offended by something I've written, it is extremely unlikely that I actually intended any such offense—please allow me the benefit of doubt before you respond. If you still feel the need respond to a perceived insult, please let me know, in specific, how I could have rewritten my post in an unoffensive manner.
Plan in advance and find them or as above have them made. I understand that things haven't been ideal for that lately but characters of your level should be able to acquire them.
Ok, I call shenanigans on that. We're rolling in loot but are patently unable to sell most of it because no one has the GP capacity, and it's been like that for a really long time. Not to mention, some of these material components are unlikely to be easy to obtain - it's all well and good to be capable of casting them, but if no one has them or you have no access to them, you might as well not have the spell in the first place. As you said, characters of our level should be able to acquire them, but we haven't.
And teleport is all well and good, but the range may gimp you - I suspect we're probably more than 1200 miles from Sasserine...
Post by Rigil Kent on Jun 23, 2012 14:44:31 GMT -6
After looking at the rules, Permanency has to be cast on one's self. So with that in mind, I need either Igneous or Rowan to scribe it (minimum 1250 gp @ CL 10, with XP cost of 50) or I need to purchase one. It appears (sadly) that True Seeing isn't on the list of spells that can be made permanent (unless the GM is willing to allow it), so I'm looking at taking the See Invisibility route instead.
I do have a question about this line in the description of Scribe Scroll: "Any scroll that stores a spell with a costly material component or an XP cost also carries a commensurate cost. In addition to the costs derived from the base price, you must expend the material component or pay the XP when scribing the scroll."
My question: How the hell does the person scribing the scroll know what this "commensurate cost" is going to be? Do they essentially have to cast (in my example) Permanency and See Invisibility? That doesn't really make sense to me because it would imply that a wizard who learns Permanency from a scroll would automatically also learn the attached spell (so the wizard essentially gains a two spells for one bonus.) Plus, it would mean the before-mentioned wizard would need to learn multiple variations of Permanency (let's see, there's Permanency: Arcane Sight, and Permanency: See Invis, and Permanency: Tongues and...)
I would thus propose that the "commensurate cost" be paid by the person actively using the Permanency scroll at the time of casting. Thus, my sequence would be:
Wizard scribes Permanency at @ CL 10 for 1250 gp and XP cost of 50.
Mazrim uses Permanency scroll and pays the 1000 XP to make See Invisibility permanent.
That way, everybody loses (in terms of XP).
Last Edit: Jun 23, 2012 14:45:22 GMT -6 by Rigil Kent
After looking at the rules, Permanency has to be cast on one's self. So with that in mind, I need either Igneous or Rowan to scribe it (minimum 1250 gp @ CL 10, with XP cost of 50) or I need to purchase one.
Unfortunately Rowan doesn't have Scribe Scroll so I guess I can't make one for you - sorry
The way the spell permanency reads it would be used on the spell (see invisibility) after you have cast the spell (see invisibility) to make it permanent. In the case of the scroll (permanency) you would use it after casting (see invisibility) then pay the commensurate cost.
I would thus propose that the "commensurate cost" be paid by the person actively using the Permanency scroll at the time of casting.
So yes I agree
1000 xp has been deducted from this weeks xp Has N8 deducted 1500 from his xp for casting tongues? or does it need to be deducted from this weeks xp?
I face death without regret as I face life without fear. And if you're gonna hit me , Hit me HARD!
The next morning after we get back from the birdcage with Harliss: Rowan casts Permanency on Tongues for himself. Rowan casts concentrate in his room on the ship, allowing Malinza to cure Igneous of his vile damage with a cure light or whatever..
On the loot sheet, there is an entry for Cloak of Protection +3... is that correct? I can't find any Cloak of Protection(s) in the SRD or MIC? I am guessing it is a Ring of Prot +3, but I wanted to check before I changed it.... If it IS a Cloak of Protection +3, Rowan will take it in exchange for his Cloak of Resistance +3, and give back whatever Ring of Protection he has...
Yeah, it's correct. There are a couple of specialized magic items like that around that sometimes aren't in the SRD. Mazrim has a pair of Bracers of Health +2 which work exactly like the Amulet of Health. I think that Turgon actually has a Cloak of Prot +3 himself.